One Dog and Two Birds

Bringing more joy to our lives

Feeding Frenzy May 28, 2007

Filed under: AMY,Cats,Dogs,Pets,Sephora — Bala @ 2:55 pm

It is no surprise that feeding 5 animals around the same time is a challenge. Especially when the cats compete to finish their food and go after the other food bowls. The one good thing was that though the cats had to be fed multiple times (4, to be exact) a day, the dogs were fed only twice. This made things a little less complicated. This is how I start: When I wake up in the morning, I first feed Sephora in my room, while Amy waits her turn. She at least knows not to go after another dog’s food, and that is very good. Then I go up, and feed Amy. Usually by the time Amy starts eating, Sephora is already there. She too doesn’t try to eat Amy’s food. I suppose there is more discipline among dogs than in the cat world.

By this time, Oreo is already circling my legs and meowing for food. I first feed him on the dining table. Then I make a dash to the bedroom and feed Snuffy. Scooter is usually on his bed these days, making it easy for me to pick him up and close the bedroom door. Then I call Amy, who usually hesitates to come near the bedroom. I cajole her to get to the door, past the hisses of Scooter, who at this point would like nothing better than to jump on Amy. Then I ask her to ‘Stay’ by the door and she usually does till I call her, unless Sephora decides to start playing. I do this so that Oreo does not try to get in to the bedroom.

I take Scooter into the office room and drop him on the chair. He likes to eat from a white sheet of paper. If I had not been paying attention to the dogs playing, Sephora has already shredded the piece of paper that Scooter ate his last meal from. And this is usually the case. After the search for a clean white paper, I give Scooter his meal and wait for him to eat. Scooter is like me: he doesn’t like to eat alone. So, I give him company, and keep watch at the same time for Oreo. Oreo always ends up opening the door, then it is the time to run around making sure he doesn’t get near Scooter’s food.

The only problem in this nice routine is if Amy leaves her post. I have to keep my ears alert for the sound of opening door. The moment Amy moves, Oreo makes it to the bedroom and heads straight for Snuffy’s food. Scooter will also leave the room if I leave and getting him back to eat the rest of his food is yet another issue. And Oreo knows that I make a mad dash to them too and attempts to grab how much ever he can. I cant help but wonder if, Oreo, as he sits by me, is making alternate plans for making it to one of the other food bowls, on the next feeding!

 

Leave a Reply

